//
you're reading...
Ideas

10 things I hate about you


This entry is about ideas.

“Ideas are funny little things, they won’t work unless you do.” Those were words of wisdom printed on a desk calendar that I used to have back when I was a kid, a quote long forgotten until I started writing this post. Ideas are good, good are ideas are better, but there’s a problem with ideas, you don’t get to choose when and how they reach out to you, they choose the time and place; or do they?

I have talked to numerous people about their ideas, or the complete lack thereof.

“I don’t have good ideas, I can never think of a good one.”

“All the good ideas are taken.”

“I’m just not creative enough.”

I was one of them. Actually, I still think my ideas are bad – until one of them decided to come to me in the shower (I think better in the shower, just like how some people sing better in it). I’m going to try to convince you that you have good ideas, you just haven’t thought of them yet. I’ll need you to do a small exercise for me, and here’s where I got my inspiration for the title: 10 things I hate about you.

What you will have to do: Write 10 things that you hate/things that are of extreme inconvenience to you, or things that are totally cramping your style. Mine goes like this:

10. I hate getting calls from telemarketers.

Seriously, someone should realize that it doesn’t work and stop wasting everyone’s time because I haven’t met a single person who actually likes getting calls from them.

9. I hate it when someone tells me they will never be able to think up good ideas.

That’s why I’m writing this.

8. I hate my education system.

For teaching not teaching me the real things that matter in life – that it is okay to fail, that failure is an option, that failure teaches me lessons like no one else can.

7. I hate Iphone‘s auto-correct.

Need I say more?

6. I hate not being able to get access to files on my home computer whenever I want.

Until I found Dropbox – it’s a cool app. Get it.

5. I hate soggy sushi rolls.

Some genius found a way to separate the seaweed from the sushi rice in an innovative way – check out Kenzan’s sushis.

4. I hate not being able to go to a quiet restaurant for lunch(that serves good food).

Ever wanted to just have some time to yourself and not be bothered? Ever wanted to discuss important business deals with partners but can’t find a quiet place to have lunch?

3. I hate waiting for elevators.

Schindler solved that problem.

2. I hate waking up in the morning.

Now I do understand that the only way to solve this issue is not to wake up, but it doesn’t mean I have to like it.

1. I hate coming all this way just to tell you that I’ve run out of things to write for no. 1.

C’est la vie. As long as you get the drift.

Refer to your list, or mine if you wish, and I’ll bet that you’ll find at least one thing you can make a business out of because you won’t be the only person with that pet hate, and people will pay for convenience. The degrees of success will differ of course, but you are not short of ideas, that’s for sure.

While you may think that hate is a strong word, I think this makes for a strong post. Plus, hate triggers action. If you really dislike something, hate will prompt you to act; and if you’re going to act anyway, why not translate it into a good thing?

Ideas are funny little things, they won’t work unless you do. You have your list, it’s time to act.

GO!

Discussion

3 thoughts on “10 things I hate about you

  1. “I think better in the shower, just like how some people sing better in it”

    There is actually science behind this. The average shower is the same height as the standing wave for voice. So when you sing, it does actually sound better.

    Posted by David Burela | 22/04/2011, 5:14 PM

Leave a Reply

